perhaps the wrong forum...

This is the English forum for all topics related to IO-Warrior. Please post in English only

Moderator: Guido Körber

haarts

perhaps the wrong forum...

Post by haarts »

Dear all,

I am sorry to ask but I am new to this whole 'shared library'/c stuff. As I understand it there are two way of accessing my IOW24. One through simple select()/read()/write() operations and the other through the iowkit API. Right? I managed to compile this library on my linux(debian) box and ended up with a libiowkit.so in the src directory. All nice and well, but how do I use it?? I read the "IOWarrior Library.pdf" and tried the first IowKitOpenDevice example. The entire program looks like this:

Code: Select all

#include "iowarrior.h"

IOWKIT_HANDLE ioHandle; 
ioHandle = IowKitOpenDevice(); 

int main (int argc, char **argv) {
        if (ioHandle != NULL) 
        { 
                // ... success, access devices 
        } 
        else 
        { 
                // ... didn't open IoWarrior, handle error 

} 
}
and I try to compile with this Makefile:

Code: Select all

MODULE_DIR=/home/harm/share/LinuxSDK/Kernel_2.6/Driver
SO_DIR=/home/harm/share/LinuxSDK/Kernel_2.6/iowkit/src
all: advopen

clean :
        rm -f advopen;

advopen : advopen.c
        gcc -Wall -g -I ${MODULE_DIR} -L ${SO_DIR} advopen.c -o advopen
This does not work, not to my surprise I might add. I have the feeling this shared library should be somewhere in the includes as well. But I have no idea how Makefiles or includes work.

Does someone pity this fool and shed some light on it? Many thanks in advance.
Robert Marquardt

Post by Robert Marquardt »

This looks like the Iowkit 1.4. Please download the current 1.5 SDK from our website. Best the SDK for all systems because it contains all the documentation also.
The Linux subdirectory contains also some instruction files on how to install (this is also true for the Iowkit 1.4, please read the files named INSTALL).
haarts