LCD display, connecting the dots...

This is the English forum for all topics related to IO-Warrior. Please post in English only

Moderator: Guido Körber

haarts

LCD display, connecting the dots...

Post by haarts »

Hi all,

I am very new to the world of electronics and I have problems connecting a LCD display(4x40 char, type ym4004-01). The display has the correct controller and has room for 18 wires numbered 1 till 18. Now my wonderful IOWarrior24 has 16 pins... Obviously I do not know which pin I should connect to which hole on the LCD display. To make matters more interesting I do not have a datasheet for the LCD display. Are there any conventions I should follow(connect hole 1 on the LCD with pin 1?)? What is the numbering on the pins on the IOWarrior? The docs weren't quite clear(page 9, section 4.2.2 contradicts page 26, section 8.4.4, I think it is only for IOW40.)
Thanks in advance!

Harm
Guido Körber
Site Admin

Post by Guido Körber »

Have a look at our application note #5: Driving Display Modules With IO-Warrior

4x40 displays usually use two controller chips. To drive this display with IOW24 requires some additional circuit (see app note 5).

If you don't have the pinout of the display module you are out of luck. You can of course just try if it follows the usual pinout but you might as well blow up the display trying this.
haarts

Post by haarts »

I see. Looks like I do not have an alternative. What is the 'usual pinout'? for a board like this?
Guido Körber
Site Admin

Post by Guido Körber »

HD44780 based displays have the same layout for the first 14 pins of their connectors. On a dual controller module usually the E signal is moved to the pins 15 and 16 as there are two of them.
haarts

Post by haarts »

Got it(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HD44780_Character_LCD)! I should have asked Wikipedia first. Thanks for your help.
haarts

Post by haarts »