Labview with Sensirion EK-H5 with sensor SHT3x
Moderator: Guido Körber
Labview with Sensirion EK-H5 with sensor SHT3x
Hi!
Does anyone ever try to use a Sensirion EK-H5 with SHT3x sensor with Labview?
I got inspired by a code for a SHT7x (https://forums.ni.com/t5/LabVIEW/sensir ... anguage=fr) and the Labview Component from codemercs. But it didn't work.
I think my problem come from the activation of IIC. When I connect an oscilloscope on SDA and SCL pins and that I "activate" IIC then nothing is happenning.
Can someone help me...?
Sorry if my english is not good.
Loïc
Does anyone ever try to use a Sensirion EK-H5 with SHT3x sensor with Labview?
I got inspired by a code for a SHT7x (https://forums.ni.com/t5/LabVIEW/sensir ... anguage=fr) and the Labview Component from codemercs. But it didn't work.
I think my problem come from the activation of IIC. When I connect an oscilloscope on SDA and SCL pins and that I "activate" IIC then nothing is happenning.
Can someone help me...?
Sorry if my english is not good.
Loïc
- Christoph Jung
- Posts: 672
- Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 3:43 pm
- Location: Germany / Berlin
- Contact:
Re: Labview with Sensirion EK-H5 with sensor SHT3x
Which kind of IO-Warrior do you use? The Sensirion dongle (green case) or one of our basic IO-Warrior devices?
The Sensirion dongle is not included in the LabView component, because it will have its own Product ID.
The Sensirion dongle is not included in the LabView component, because it will have its own Product ID.
Software developer
Re: Labview with Sensirion EK-H5 with sensor SHT3x
Thanks for your reply.
I use the Sensirion dongle. I suspect that the Sensirion dongle have their own ProductID but the method to activate the IIC is the same than your basic IO-Warrio, isn't it?
I use the Sensirion dongle. I suspect that the Sensirion dongle have their own ProductID but the method to activate the IIC is the same than your basic IO-Warrio, isn't it?
- Christoph Jung
- Posts: 672
- Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 3:43 pm
- Location: Germany / Berlin
- Contact:
Re: Labview with Sensirion EK-H5 with sensor SHT3x
The funcionality of the Sensirion dongles is the same like the IO-Warrior24 dongle. But the specific product ID was not part of our default IO-Warrior API.
In the last update the Sensirion PID was includet (please check the IO-Warrior SDK). But I don't know if LabView supports that.
Our LabView support is limited and the component was created by a user. I can check tomorrow if it is possible to add the sensirion PID into the LabView component.
In the last update the Sensirion PID was includet (please check the IO-Warrior SDK). But I don't know if LabView supports that.
Our LabView support is limited and the component was created by a user. I can check tomorrow if it is possible to add the sensirion PID into the LabView component.
Software developer
Re: Labview with Sensirion EK-H5 with sensor SHT3x
I saw that the Sensirion PID is included in the last update. When I use the "get Property" Labview component from , the IO-Warrior24 is founded.
I don't think that the problem come from the sensirion PID to activate the I2C on the dongle. Maybe I misunderstood...
In fact I want to enable the I2C function to talk to the sensor. I tried different things but it is always disabled.
I also tried to use directly the Call DLL function of Labview to send data to enable I2C on the dongle but it doesn't work.
Maybe I should ask to NI-Labview support or Sensirion support. I asked here in the case where a user have already developed that with a SHT3x.
I don't think that the problem come from the sensirion PID to activate the I2C on the dongle. Maybe I misunderstood...
In fact I want to enable the I2C function to talk to the sensor. I tried different things but it is always disabled.
I also tried to use directly the Call DLL function of Labview to send data to enable I2C on the dongle but it doesn't work.
Maybe I should ask to NI-Labview support or Sensirion support. I asked here in the case where a user have already developed that with a SHT3x.
- Christoph Jung
- Posts: 672
- Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 3:43 pm
- Location: Germany / Berlin
- Contact:
Re: Labview with Sensirion EK-H5 with sensor SHT3x
I have build a simple VI with the SHR3X and the Sensirion dongle. In the Vi there is no calculation only raw data. I hope this will work for you.
You can download it here: http://files.codemercs.com/iow24_i2c_sample.vi
You can download it here: http://files.codemercs.com/iow24_i2c_sample.vi
Software developer
Re: Labview with Sensirion EK-H5 with sensor SHT3x
Thank you it works. I know where was my mistake. I am almost ashamed to say what was this mistake ... I send 0x44 as byte for the I2C adress. In fact it is 0x88 beacause the adress is on the 7th MSB of a byte and the last LSB is for reading or writing.
Thanks again
Thanks again
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 2861
- Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2003 10:25 pm
- Location: Germany/Berlin
- Contact:
Re: Labview with Sensirion EK-H5 with sensor SHT3x
That is a classic. We should put that onto a standard checklist for support…
It is not really obvious for someone new with I2C and since various tools handle this in different ways it is sometimes not even obvious for the experienced I2C user.
It is not really obvious for someone new with I2C and since various tools handle this in different ways it is sometimes not even obvious for the experienced I2C user.
Re: Labview with Sensirion EK-H5 with sensor SHT3x
been having similar issues trying to get I2C working with different sensors in LabVIEW. Good to know about the address bit—definitely something I'll double check next time
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 2861
- Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2003 10:25 pm
- Location: Germany/Berlin
- Contact:
Re: Labview with Sensirion EK-H5 with sensor SHT3x
It is definitely a point of confusion on I2C.
Some data sheets show the address in binary, adding the R/W bit, so you can clearly see how to interpret it and some do not mention the R/W bit. The last one is the worst option.
In such cases I usually use on of our IOW-Dongles and scan the bus.
Some data sheets show the address in binary, adding the R/W bit, so you can clearly see how to interpret it and some do not mention the R/W bit. The last one is the worst option.
In such cases I usually use on of our IOW-Dongles and scan the bus.